Learning about the past has no valve for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is currently a contentious argument over whether history is valuable or not for us living in this era. I totally disagree with this opinion because we learn from our previous mistakes, and it also provides us with a cultural identity and inspires progress. The main reason why I believe that history is valuable for us is that history helps us avoid errors that happened in the past. This will lead to a future with more accurate and positive experiences that will definitely benefit humanity. A good example of that is the World War II has made people from around the world understand the consequences of wars, and hence international organizations, such as the United promoting peace all over the globe. Another reason why I support the notion that learning about the past is not pointless for people living today is that it builds cultural identity and inspires progress. In other words, it gives people a sense of identity and helps strengthen national bonds and unity. Independence Day struggles, for instance, inspire patriotism. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the notion that history is pointless to us living nowadays because we avoid repeating the same mistakes over and over, and it helps us shape our cultural identity and encourages us to move forward.