To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a well-discussed topic that non-native speakers may face tangible social and practical problems while living overseas. While some people strongly believe that speaking in another language does not have any impact on an individual’s life, I truly reckon that knowing a local tongue is not enough to feel free in an foreign territory. A compelling argument is a cultural background that cannot be acquired with a foreign language, however has a substantial effect on the social life of every nation. Communication with natives without knowing their traditions and rituals may pose some misunderstandings that will ruin a newcomer’s social adaptation. A simple illustration of it is a greeting in some cultures. For example, in Kazakhstan, greeting with two hands is a sign of respect, and not following this unspoken rule can fail the first impression of an immigrant, even they can speak the local language. Another reason that affects on a newcomer’s social life is a fear of communication with locals in their language. As people are not able to communicate brilliantly in another tonque instantly, they are usually scared to start a conversation with natives. Moreover, if individuals around do not give any help or support to newcomers, their social isolation and insecurity will only grow. As a result, fear of using a foreign language also plays a crucial role in a person’s adaptation and cannot be ignored. To conclude, developing social life in an abroad country is highly impacted by numerous factors such as cultural differences, confidence of an immigrant and others, except knowing the local tongue.