Essay Question: Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is widely recognised that every human being has the right to express their thoughts and ideas. Some people even argue that artists, who have more influence, should have total freedom to do so. However, from where I stand, I strongly disagree with that because dangerous thoughts and controversial debates may be harmful for citizens. Dangerous rhetoric that artists spread may harm people. Artworks make a great impact on society, and they always reflect the artists ’ feelings and their opinions on certain issues. That is to say, if the artists ’ creations spread potentially dangerous things for people, it might lead to disaster. Additionally, if artists spread wrong information, it might cause panic all over the world. For instance, a Japanese author who was believed to be a foreteller said that there will be a horrible earthquake on July 5th, 2025, in Japan. Many people believed it and were frightened. However, a serious earthquake did not happen on that day. This shows that authors can easily change readers' minds, and authors should be responsible for their own words. In addition, various viewpoints may be offensive to minorities. It is undeniable that points of view on problems differ from person to person, but on particular issues, there is no room for discussion, and the answer should never be changed. For example, every child has the right to education. Moreover, controversial thoughts and speeches that may hurt the minority should not be released to the public. For example, JK Rowling, a well-known author, expressed anti-homosexual opinions on social media and was therefore condemned by her audience. In conclusion, everyone has the right to express their viewpoints, but there should definitely be boundaries because incorrect information and controversial thoughts may result in conflict between different communities. In consequence, artists ' behaviours should be limited just like others.