Writing Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more ttenvironmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, it has caused serious concern that more animals and plants are on the edge of vanishing. Some argue that it is our priority to protect the environment by preserving the biological diversity while others hold the view that there are more urgent matters needed to be solved. Undoubtedly, the diminishing diversity in fauna and flora poses a threat to the whole ecosystem. The survival of some animals plays a key role in the health of forests and vegetations, as they eat fruits and spread seeds through their manure. Meanwhile, the existence of plantation such as forest can help hold soil and prevent soil erosion caused by heavy floods. In these cases, our environmental problems could be grealtly mitigated if we preseve the endangered animals and extinct plants. However, despite the significant role that the diversity of species plays, human beings still have other pressing environmental issues. One on the point is how to curb the negative consequences resulted from modernization and industrialization. For example, emissions from fossil fuels produce toxious pollutants that not only harm the environment but also undermine our physical health. In addition, pesticides and transgenic crops associated with modern farming can gradually transform the gene pool and jeopardise the food safety. If no serious measures are taken to tackle these problems, our world will soon become a place not suitable for survival. To conclude, I strongly believe that biological diversity is one of the most significant environmental problem we are facing right now. Meanwhile, we should never overlook the importance of other environmental matters.