Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

It is well-known that electronic gadgets are becoming popular in education. While there are some supporters of this tendency, there is an obvious opposition claiming that it has a negative impact. Personally, I believe that this trend certainly benefits students in their educational process, making it more convenient. On the one hand, modern technologies have vastly penetrated into all aspects of our life lives including education, having detrimental effects on everything. Nowadays, students tend to heavily rely rely heavily on technologies technology in accomplishing almost all their assignments and rarely use their own thinking. Consequently, that leads to inflated grades of their actual performance and capabilities. A study of one European university showed that more than a half of the students used unreferenced digital information as their own to complete home tasks, thus increasing the rate of plagiarism. As a result, on the main project, those who cheated on home assignments demonstrated much lower scores than those who did all the work themselves. However, I think these facts are not enough to outweigh the benefits of using technological devices. Nevertheless, some people argue that technological advancements make a valuable contribution to the education process. Currently, students are not burdened to carry heavy textbooks instead, they can bring only a laptop or tablet. Moreover, the amount of knowledge is not limited to the information in a books anymore. Now, almost all students around the globe have the same level of access to data, which has equalised their opportunities for self-improvement. For example, students with internet in rural areas of our country now have access to millions of free materials of from the best universities in the world. That is why I believe that the use of technology has a mainly favourable impact on education. In conclusion, although devices have drawbacks on in the performance of students, I am convinced that this tendency is bringing significant improvements in the quality as well as efficiency of the educational process.