Some people say that the only reason for learning a foregin language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country . Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own pinion.

In this ongoing debate, some people believe that a person should be multilingual only for work or travel purposes in other countries, while others state that this should not be the only purpose of learning a new language. In my opinion, learning multiple languages has many benefits other than work or travel. I will be discussing both viewpoints while asserting my position as mentioned above. On the one hand, some individuals believe that seeking a job in a different country requires communicating with people of that country, in order to get hired and work efficiently. Some multinational companies have requirements that employees must be fluent in different languages. Additionally, they need some sort of academic proof or certificate in linguistic proficiency to get a job in these companies. For example, according to a report from the BBC, doctors and dentists from developing countries need to attain a higher score in language proficiency tests to secure a job in prestigious hospitals. Therefore, the individuals aiming for the lucrative pay must be fluent in different languages. On the other hand, some people believe that there are additional benefits of learning new languages. In order to acquire friends in a new country, it is quintessential to know the language so that you can communicate with the natives of that region. A prime example of this is Facebook, where people around the world communicate with each other, but they need a common language to understand each other efficiently. Hence, it is quintessential to have effective knowledge and fluency in language where you are planning to move. Overall, it can be clearly stated that only reason for learning a language should not be travel or work, but there are many other benefits that come out of it. In order to build a relationship or make friends, you should know how to communicate with locals, which is possible through their native language.