Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

Across the globe, people from rural areas are relocating to urban centres and cities, leading to a diminishing number of people living in the countryside. I believe that this is a negative development due to scarcity of affordable living space and immense difference of advancements among two areas. To begin with, due to overcrowding, the pressure on the housing market keeps growing, which leads to the lack of affordable housing. Population growth straightforwardly affects the supply which is resulted in rising house prices. To exemplify, Paris, where renting a small room with a toilet in the kitchen costs around 1000€, which is an extreme price. In other words, proposed amenities are not justify the cost it has, hence, it is considered to be a negative development. The arose gap between rural and urban development continues to deepen. It is caused because more people start living in cities, consequently, local authorities have to allocate more money in city facilities. When the contribution of funds increases, the opportunities provided by cities such as education and career attract people. Thus, this disproportion of development results in rising of city population. To conclude, increasing number of cities’ population and the opposite with rural areas is a negative advancement because of the lack of the dwellings and the huge gap between them.