Some people believe that the range of technology available to individuals today is increasing the gap between the poor people and the rich people. Others think it is having an opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The impact of using technology is becoming a contentious issue in todays's world. It is argued by some people that the access to the variety of technological services and equipments is excaberating the gap between individuals belonging to upper class and lower class. However, others believe that this is not the case, and claims that technology is reducing the gap between the poor and rich people. I strongly agree with the latter notion supporting the contribution of science in uplifting the standard of many families. This essay will examine both perspectives before providing a conclusion on my opinion. Firstly, one of the factors that supports the former notion of negative implications of technology is the ability of people from different backgrounds to access gadgets, internet and knowledge of technology. In other words, there are poor households residing in remote areas where there are no internet facilities which hinders their ability to use technology and engage in productive activities. On the other hand, urban locations are well equipped with modern technology and other amenities which provides advantage to city dwellers to do optimum utilisation of internet to earn money by using social media platforms and by accessing online job opportunities. Additionally, financial ability of a person to buy technological gadgets such as laptops and computers is also a major factor that contributes to the issue. For instance, even if an individual might posses the knowledge to use internet for earning money, but unavailablity of proper gadgets to do the work restricts them to do better. On the other hand, there are plethora of arguments that support the view of the benefits of technology. Technology and platforms such as Tik Tok, Instagram, Facebook is one of the major source of income for many households. The social media influencer earn a huge amount of money by posting their videos on these platforms which further helps them in raising their financial status and livelihood. For example, a survey conducted in India provided that the top ten rich people earned 60 per cent of their revenue from internet by posting videos and advertising their business. Moreover, five of the top ten rich identities demonstrated that they belonged to very poor households. Thus, technology provides a platform to people to engage in activities to earn money and enhance the standard of their living. To conclude, every coin have two sides, similarly, technology makes well settled person more rich but there are exceptions as well. According to me, technology has uplifted the lives of people drastically in terms of skills and finances by providing opportunities that people without internet cannot access.