With the increased global demand for oil and gas , undiscovered areas of the world should be opened uo to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

For a long time, oil and gas have significantly contributed to the world’s progress. Few of the masses believe that due to the increasing demand for crude oil and gas, hidden areas of the world should be accessed to maximize resources. I partially agree with this statement in which points will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there are several reasons in thr support of the given statement in which the first and foremost is economic growth. Many nations are resource-dependent as they require non-renewable energy sources to compete the the global demand. Additionally, the oil and gas industry increase industrial output and is also helping in expanding transportation which directly contributes to grow a country's economy. On the other hand, it creates better job opportunities.Admittedly,exploring thr untouched areas of the world for extracting mineral oil and gas will require labor, therefore the increased demand will significantly increase employment for many people. For instance, an article published in The Tribune in 2017 disclosed that with the expansion of jobs in the mining sector, 23.7% of employees got out of poverty line in the Philippines. In contrast, there are plenty of reasons to contradict the above statement in which the vital point iss environmental destruction. Prolonged mining and digging of the earth’s surface for extracting resources will uprise the risk of deforestation, habitat destruction of flora and fauna and could further increase the risk of global warming due to the emission of greenhouse gases. Besides this, it can cost human lives. The process of mining is hazardous to people who are involved in these activities beacuse minerals emitts poisonous gases that are prone to human health issues. Furthermore,extraction can cause manmade disaster as some of the areas are ecologically semsitive. For example, an article was published in 'The Times Of India' in year 2024 which disclosed that due to illegal mining many people got trapped inside the cave that they were digging and almost 250 people lost their lives in the incident. In conclusion, although opening up undiscovered areas can fulfill short- term energy goals but can drastically damage our earth and the resources will deplete over the time. Instead, nations shoukd focus on green fuel that are also known as renewable resources (solar energy, wind energy and so on.)