In many cities many people are living in a large apartment blocks. Does this accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Currently, blocks of flats are indeed popular among many people in different cities. This type of living has some vivid drawbacks, such as a fatal risk of fire. I strongly believe that it has more benefits, though. On the one hand, living in high-rises might jeopardise the lives of residents in case of an emergency. For instance, if a fire starts, people who reside top floors experience higher risks of mortality. This happens because they are limited in time to save themselves as fire spreads in minutes. Another point to mention is weak and shoddy constructions, because a lot of large apartment blocks are built in a year or even faster. As a consequence, such buildings are very susceptible to natural cataclysms like gale-force winds or minor earthquakes, which again decreases the level of safety. On the other hand, I hold the view that this type of residence is more alluring because of the range of facilities it has. Most apartment blocks are gathered together in one complex with different amenities included, such as groceries, pharmacies and even clinics. It simplifies life and economises the time spent on fulfilling basic needs. Moreover, living in a flat is much cheaper than other types of accommodation as it demands lower maintenance. Most property management companies handle exterior and structural upkeep, saving residents money. For example, if the water supply is suddenly cut off in the whole building, dwellers can call a house manager who will immediately fix it for free. In conclusion, despite all the disadvantages that living in an apartment block might have, I tend to think that this is one of the most convenient types of accommodation.