Artificial intelligence is taking over jobs in many industries. Is this a positive or negative development?

Artificial intelligence has revolutionise all the industries through automation and increased efficiency to a higher level. There is an ongoing debate of its effects on the working class, as it can lead to job losses, particularly in routine-based tasks or roles that require less complex decision making. On the one hand, Artificial intelligence can perform task faster and with greater precision than humans, leading to increased productivity and more efficiency in industries such as logistics and health care. This can be seen as a positive development for the companies, seeking to reduce in cost and improve the quality of service. For instance, during complex surgeries, artificial intelligence is being used through robotics due to its precision and lack of error caused by fatigue. Therefore, it has affected jobs but in a positive way, as more technical jobs are now available for the operation and maintenance of these devices. On the other hand, rapid increase in artificial intelligence may increase the gap in social ineqality, particularly if access to new job opportunities and retaining jobs is not certain. With the help of this technology, mundane task efficiency is boosted which has reduced the requirement of manpower in some sectors while opening opportunities in others. For example, electrial companies are now trying to use drones for fixing various issues with wires at complex locations, which in turn putting jobs at risk for the line technicians while creating new job opportunities in a new feild. Henceforth, government should enforce such policies in the educational system so that people are made aware of new skilled streams. Overall, Artificial intelligence has changed the job market completely in petty amount of time, which has both positive and negative impacts. In my opinion, these disparities can be easily overcome by implementing some policies through systematic intervention.