Some people think that to lead a successful life, a university degree is important. Others believe that this is no longer true nowadays. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is an irrefutable fact that having a university degree is important, and plays a key role in the future of individuals. While some people opine that, it is essential, others believe that it is not practical anymore. In this essay, I will discuss both views and express my opinion. To begin with, a university degree is a determining factor in employing and assessing people. In other words, it is indispensable and a prerequisite during employment, and convincing for employees. For example, in Iran, many manufacturing companies and firms recruit experts with higher degrees as managers and seniors; plus, there is a stiff competition among youngsters to gain the best roles. Similarly, having a degree from a prosperous university is a game changer for immigrating to other countries and fulfilling a dream job as well. Hence, a university degree can be very useful for the future of youngsters. On the other hand, in today's world, there are multiple factors appearing due to technological changes. To clarify, due to unprecedented developments in technology, obtaining a university degree alone is not adequate for the youth. Job seekers have to gain many abilities and participate in vocational training classes to excel in every field. In addition, being well-rounded is vital in many companies these days; for instance, it is apparent that some companies rely on skills such as agriculture and gardening. To conclude, having a high degree plays a key role in employment, and I believe that it is not enough these days, so I side with the latter view and believe that owning a certificate solely does not lead to a dream and decent job.