In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be dri driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the forthcoming years, all vehicles, including commercial and non-commercial, will be driverless and people may not sit on the driver seats and may prefer to be just passengers. While I accept there are some negative impacts of these driver less vehicles, I believe that this would have positive impact on the way we travel. On the one hand, people have always seen a driver taking control of the vehicle while passengers enjoy the ride. However, drivers are not able to completely concentrating on driving these days due to numerous distractions. These distractions could be from personal distractions to most common distraction in the recent days, notifications and calls on the cell phones. Recent years, it has become more common for the passengers also to be equally vigilant to ensure that the drivers are concentrating on driving. Data on accidents in the past few years from department of transportation, would also confirm that the accidents are more common due to the concentration of the drivers. However, Driverless vehicles are being built to adhere to the rules of driving. Since these driverless vehicles unlike human are not distracted and follow the instructions to drive following the rules reduces the possibility of accidents. This may not completely eradicate the risk of an accidents with the current version on software and hardware, however, driverless vehicles would become more safer option then vehicles driven by human. As companies enhance their driverless vehicles in upcoming years, this may also lead to vehicles getting safer and faster. To conclude, the benefits of driverless vehicles would be realized as these vehicles upgrade to become process more accurately to make the journey safer for the passengers and eventually reducing the overall travel time. While passengers could use this travel time by getting more productive or spend in leisure.