In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an ongoing debate about people are living for longer duration than before, as they are getting better medical treatments and facilities. Thus, group of people thinks it is creating issues for government while others argue that it is beneficial to have old age people in society. I strongly believe that disadvantages of having more old age people outweigh merits. This essay will discuss both views in details with examples. To examine brighter side of having more numbers of old people is that they have gained lots of experiences during their life in various sectors including professional and personal and that can be helpful for younger people. For example, children growing up with their grandparents usually learn basic manners and communication skills faster because elderly people know how to teach a child well. Besides this, as they can do critical thinking more precisely so, in many big organizations all the managerial roles need to be played by seniors. On the other hand, I will not overlook demerits of increasing population of senior citizens. To begin with, government finds difficulties to provide benefits like pension, free health care plans and others to them. Not only, it is leading in rising of population and making places crowded but also affecting environment negatively. To sum up, though old age people can help younger generation in multiple ways, if their population cannot be controlled in future government might find difficulties to serve financial investments to other sectors. That is way government should take relative measures.