Noise pullution in cities should be treated as seriously as other forms of pollution. To what extent do you agree and disgree?

Environmental degradation shows in numerous factors, each of which poses a variety of challenges to ecological balance and human well-being. Among these, noise pollution stands out as a dangerous issue affecting both mental and physical health. This essay will highlight the danger of noise pollution relating to sustainable habitat and healthy population, placing it on the same level as other forms of contamination, such as chemical pollutants or waste. To begin with, citizens will suffer from severe health issues provided that they are exposed to high-pitched sounds. What it means is, the frequency of sound not only causes impaired hearing, but it also results in mood disorders and heart diseases. For example, individuals who live near the airport, where engine sounds take off or land, experience difficulty falling asleep. A lack of sleep results in various dangerous illnesses like a weakened immune system, liver disease, etc.. What’s more, the distraction is another negative effect of the high regularity of sound. It is like small conversations among colleagues, the vibration of a smartphone or the melody of music in the coffee shop. As a result, the cognitive brain splits its attention simultaneously, undermining concentration and productivity. For example, a student should choose to study in a library rather than a coffee shop. In a library, there is less noise to absorb knowledge and minimise distractions. In a nutshell, urban noise pollution should be restricted to avoid pessimistic pollution health. Besides, the high decibel levels should not be allowed in special areas such as hospitals, schools, which concentrate on vulnerable people and the younger generation.