Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Humanity is always striving to find ways in order improve, adapt or overcome problems. In my opinion, through only animal experimentation has humanity advanced so far in a matter of centuries. Animal testing has enabled scientist and researchers alike the ability to safely experiment their inventions, without the fear of sacrificing human life. Animal testing can be justified because of the paramount benefits it has brought to humanity. For centuries have animals been used in important scientific research, both medical and social. In particularly, a myriad of important medical discoveries arised as a immediate result of animal experimentation. Namely, the discovery the small pox vaccine was only achievable due to cows possessing a natural precursor of the smallpox vaccine within their blood. When fighting against pathogens, the aforementioned discovery layed the framework of what the pharmaceutical and medical industry is capable of accomplishing today. Without it, society as we know today may have been completely different. Therefore, demonstrating the clear reason as to why animal testing is justified. On the other hand, many argue that experimentation on animals cannot be justified. Often, because animals are also living beings, like you and I. Hence, humans do not have the moral right to do experiments on animals. Moreover, researchers can try to utilise alternative methods of research. For instance, many experiments regarding new vaccinations are carried out directly with humans. These individuals provide their consent to such experiments, and are often rewarded generously if the experiments prove to be successful. Directly testing on humans subjects is one substantial advantage over animal testing. Hence, while few industries do so outside the pharmaceutical industry, its advantage is slowly being recognised. In conclusion, while human testing can be employed, it should be done so with much care and control. One should not ignore the significant progress that animal testing has brought to society.