In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

There has been a significant increase in an array of online courses that were greatly welcomed by many learners. But some are sceptical about its efficiency compared to offline lessons. This essay will discuss availability in terms of money and logistics as the main advantages of the online classrooms and the lack of personal treatment and interpersonal engagement as the major disadvantages. An online education has been warmly welcomed by many people because it was seen as a cheap and convenient alternative to existing ones. Indeed, providers of internet teachings save a tremendous amount of money on rent and other miscellaneous office expenses and can fit even larger groups of students at a time. Consequently, the price of almost any training is much lower than that of offline. For example, there are plenty of programs at Harvard University that are priced reasonably or even free. Additionally, online tutoring is much convenient and time-saving. Now the learner does not need to travel across the city to get to a classroom and spend hours in traffic. So, all these features make distance learning quite attractive to many busy people. However, online schooling has serious drawbacks in terms of little attention from the teacher and a lack of interaction among the attendees. If a trainee approaches a scholar, he or she needs some tutoring and expects to be treated with some regard. While there is often an overwhelming number of students, online tutors can not physically treat everyone individually, and the questions of the tutee are often left unanswered. For instance, in a huge online class, it is merely possible for the lecturer to see everyone’s emotions on their faces when there are tens or hundreds of such on a screen. Although peer-to-peer interaction is also a vital part of any learning process, in an online auditorium, members rarely have the chance to interact with each other, making their presence virtual and learning less efficient. In conclusion, online learning has obvious advantages such as availability and convenience. Nevertheless, people should also be aware of its downside, as they will sacrifice an individual approach and miss communication with classmates.