More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern life style which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree?

In today’s world, the increasing number of incurable diseases as a result of the modern way of living has led many to believe that traditional medicines are the way to go. In my view, these remedies alone should not be used in trying to cure new diseases due to the lack of foundational theories and research studies, backed by science. Traditional medication is mostly based on belief and not on a holistic scientific understanding of human biology. They are often regarded as a last resort where contemporary science cannot offer any solution. Nonetheless, the ingredients often used by practitioners and therapists do help in fighting the symptoms, as these are usually the same ones used by modern medicine pharmacology. I think people diagnosed with chronic, incurable ailments, should try to improve their living conditions by taking natural remedies, but at the same time, a complete reliance on them would lead to detrimental results. The newly discovered diseases, such as coronavirus, are too complicated to be understood by alternative medicine. Using it in these cases would yield no result and might also cause mass hysteria, as placebo effects create the illusion that they have found a cure. Moreover, this would deter the chances of finding a vaccine by contemporary science in the long term. Therefore, in my opinion, traditional modes of treatment ought not to be considered as a remedy. To conclude, when modern drugs fail, alternative methods could be used to alleviate the problems while constantly undergoing upcoming treatments offered by mainstream science, which are created through rigorous scientific research and experimentation.