It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Recently, some people started taking a year break before countinuing their future studies. The benefit of taking a year off is gaining work experience and to earn money during the gap year. The main drawback losing their academic performance. One advantage of taking a break before attending a university is saving money. This is because many students find themselves overwhelmed in certain times as tuition in some countries are becoming more expensive. As a result, If students did not work during the gap year, they could not afford attending a university. In addtion, working might help to develop certain soft skills such as responsibility, time management, and communication. These skills are important for applying to future jobs after graduating. For example, in some sectors in Saudi Arabia, such skills are a minimum requirement of being accepted. One primary disadvantage students may find it difficult to readjust to academic routines, which can have negative impact on their performance levels during their first studying year at the university. For instance, many individuals in USA take a gap year to travel and experience new cultures. Most of them struggle in the early stages to adjust to the demands and the environment of the universities. This is because the habits of regular studying, meeting deadlines, and concentrating in lectures is harder to rebuild after long break. In conclusion, taking a year off after finishing high school started to gain popularity among individuals. I believe that the benefits such as earning money and work experience outweigh the disadvantages.