Many schools insist that students wear school uniforms. Some people think this is a good idea. Other people think school uniforms are a negative idea. Outline the advantages and disadvantages of wearing school uniforms.

Society has changed, and that includes the world of education. Some students see school uniforms as necessary and a great idea. Whereas, others disagree and see it as a problem. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of wearing a school uniform. All over the world, there are many advantages of wearing school uniforms. First of all, it promotes equality between students. Also, there are many educational facilities that promote equality without requiring special clothes. For example, in Japan, they promote equality between students by utilising clothes, and each school has its own uniform. Next, it reduces distractions and improves focus in the class. However, this is by removing the pressure of choosing outfits and the focus on fashion. Also, school uniforms help the students concentrate on their studies. Last but not least, it saves a great deal of time and money. On the other hand, there are many disadvantages. First, buying the school uniform could be expensive. For example, some places inform the family to buy these uniforms from their own money, proving to be costly. Second, some institutions force the student to wear the uniform, as a form of torture. Furthermore, students will feel uncomfortable wearing these uniforms even in classes or in their spare time. For instance, some students may have an allergy to cotton in some school clothes. Finally, wearing institutional uniforms may not eliminate bullying. Moreover, uniforms can reduce some types of bullying related to clothing, and they may address the root causes of bullying behaviour. In conclusion, it is clear to see that school uniforms have multiple advantages. However, there are also a few disadvantages.