More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation, Describe some of the problems over reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Nowadays, the number of private vehicles is higher than ever before. This may be caused by the increase in the popularity of private cars as the means of transportation. This paper will attempt to examine the possible difficulties connected with overreliance on private vehicles and identify the possible ways to deal with them. Problems are believed to be stemming from different sides. The main everyday challenge for the citizens is traffic congestion, inevitably caused by a high density of private vehicles. It leads to blocked roads and daily loss of time by an average person. Additionally, the large number of private vehicles affects the quality of air in the city. Every car exhaust contains a huge amount of lead additives and CO2, which cause the deterioration of the population’s health. The health condition of citizens may also be worsened by using cars for the shortest journeys, instead of taking 15 minutes walk. This factor is connected with the rise in obesity levels and heart diseases among people. An example is Almaty City, where people face all these problems daily and still prefer private vehicles as a major type of transportation. Even if the problem looks severe and unchangeable, there are many ways to deal with it. To halt the blocking of roads the government should intervene by introducing congestion charging. It will reduce the risk of pedestrians being hit by cars and lower the CO2 level in the air. Another possible solution is upgrading existing public transport, by adding new buses and routes. The more comfortable public transport, the more people will use it as an alternative to a private vehicle. Not only public transport should be upgraded, the other means of transportation as cycling should be introduced. To do this, first of all, the city ’s infrastructure should be changed and then the attractiveness of it will be higher. The best example is Amsterdam, where all the rules are implemented. The city has comfortable infrastructure for every means of transportation, that is why, people do not rely only on one of them. In conclusion, overreliance on a private vehicle is harmful not only for the driver but for the pedestrians and eco-system of the city. To tackle the problem other means of transportation should be developed along with implementing more strict rules for car owners every year.