Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Nowadays, immigration to a foreign country has been on the rise. One of the aspects of living in a different nation is to communicate using their own language. It is agreed that expressing oneself in your non-native tongue may result in a variety of social and everyday challenges. Hence, the great impact of communication barriers poses confusion and prevents comprehension, as well as the possible social discrimination by Xenophobic groups will prove this. To begin with, non-native speakers often experience difficulties in expressing themselves because of limitations in linguistic acquisition, which is attributed to practical communicative issues. For instance, Japanese grammar and vocabulary present special difficulties for foreign learners because of their complexity and marked difference from the English language. This ineffective communication can result from one’s difficulty in both fluency and comprehension. To be more precise, common local slang or idiomatic expressions can be easily misunderstood, similarly when reading and answering specific clauses in a legal or formal document. Therefore, this makes it clear that a second language could create various obstacles on a day-to-day basis. In addition, Xenophobic culture tends to be hostile to any individual because of its “us vs them” mentality and fear towards a stranger. These cross-cultural differences hinder trust and cooperation towards one another. For example, an Indian worker in an English-speaking country can undergo unfair treatment because of his accent or language proficiency. Moreover, if the victim cannot fully convey himself because of personal struggles in communicating, then it can potentially induce mental distress or alienation. Thus, this becomes apparent that society can impose exclusivity and discrimination on a foreigner. To summarise, linguistic restrictions can lead to negative circumstances as a consequence of ineffective communication skills and discriminatory societal judgement. I, therefore, believe that residing in a foreign nation as second language user causes considerable drawbacks on a person. The series of societal and practical difficulties brought by these barriers can eventually lead to problematic psychological stress.