Memorisation of information by frequent repetition, namely rote learning, plays a role in many education system. To what extend do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Rote learning is a memorisation technique based on consistent repetition. Currently, this method of studying predominates numerous academic systems. In my view, the drawbacks of learning solely by repetition outweigh its benefits of creating a grasp of concepts, because it limits understanding and results in performance burnout.  Admittedly, one of the major advantages of rote learning is its ability to create a foundation for the retention of fundamental education. For example, a toddler learns the vital general knowledge, such as his name, his home address, and the alphabet. Likewise, a student can effectively memorise the multiplication table, grammatical rules, and historical dates by active recall. Therefore, this way of teaching can be used as a base for more complex learning. However, repetition without necessarily understanding underlying reasoning is ineffective in fostering deep understanding and critical thinking. A point often overlooked is that real-world situations require good problem-solving skills and adaptation. For instance, if a physical therapist student fails to develop his clinical reasoning skills, then it will be hard for him to develop tailored treatment in practice. It is important to realise that theoretical concepts are more often different in a practical setting. Thus, this study method only provides short-term skills rather than long-term knowledge. Aside from that, it is very time-consuming and often leads to burnout. For instance, a language examination test taker can fail her test because of her robotic and unnatural responses. If someone doesn’t see progress in their understanding or apply knowledge practically, then it can result in demotivation. Hence, skill application cannot be transferred from memorisation only. By and large, I believe that the disadvantages of over-reliance on rote learning outweigh any of its benefits. This method hinders deep comprehension and rational thinking and can potentially lead to exhaustion if there is no observed learning progress.