Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others argue that circumstances and motivation of each crime should always be considered when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is commonly argued that each type of crime should be punished with strict measures, while others opine that when crime is committed, people should keep in mind and consider what causes individuals to violate the law. In my opinion, all illegal actions can be fixed with punishments; however, circumstances that reasons of the crime should not be neglected. This essay will explore both perspectives and give a personal point of view. It is clear that the number of perpetration of offenses has been increasing since last century. In many countries, for example, various unlawful acts can be seen, such as intentional homicide and theft, and these crimes cannot be justified with any reasons. Additionally, many believe that major offenses are attributed to minor misdeeds; namely, the more culprits commit mini illegal actions like stealing small things, the more this may become large. Thus, some individuals advocate that human beings who infringe on the law must be condemned to life imprisonment, and they also think that such punishment is the solely way to get rid of the crime. Moreover, if the government introduces repression as a prison sentence, people will try to avoid carrying out a crime, while a country will be free from criminals. Therefore, society support this statement because of these reasons. On the other hand, there is no doubt committing the offense has not always been deliberate. As an illustration, in some cases of collision, a driver who hit the pedestrian does not do this misfortune intentionally. This may be caused by indifference. That is why justices have to consider causes of criminal acts when they are judging. Finally, such cases, if people break the rules, the punishment should not be strict compared to fixed judgment. In conclusion, despite the advantages of fixed penalty, from my perspective it should be punished taking both circumstances and motivation into account.