High medication costs can affect the effectiveness of disease treatment. Discuss the main reasons for increasing medication prices and examine how this affects disease treatment.

Medical costs play a vital role in treatment. However, the high pharmaceutical prices are a controversial issue that causes a wide range of severe downsides. In this essay, an attempt will be made to discuss the reasons behind the high drug costs and highlight the negative effects on society. To begin with, the primary reason for high medication costs is the research and development. Firstly, developing new drugs requires a long time and a massive investment. It takes a number of months to discover a new drug. Besides, scientists call for funding for experimentation. However, for investing am amount of time and money, the challenging situation is a high failure rate, and the small rate of drugs makes it to market. For instance, according to the research, scientists spend 3 billion dollars on discovering new medications. Nevertheless, the proportion of outcomes reaches approximately 20% to 30%. Therefore, drug prices have to stay high to balance the budgetTherefore, the pharmaceutical company argues that they need to keep high to recover costs and to fund future research. As a result, individuals cannot afford the prescription costs, leading to an impact on severe health issues and healthcare. Citizens who have diseases do not follow medication adherence and take lower doses than prescribed in order to manage expenses. Consequently, the total number of hospitalizations increases dramatically, directly have an impact on burdening health systems. The doctors and nurses work overtime shifts to treat patients. Besides, the families of patients experience feeling helpless, resulting in less hope in their lives. Hence, the more expensive the drugs are, the more stressful inhabitants and authorised institutions to deal with. In a nutshell, the research and development of new drugs is one of the major factors driving up out-of-pocket drug costs. Thereby, the patients not only endure physical pain, but also struggle with high costs. In particular, when those living in poverty cannot afford a remedy, they are even forced to give up medical care.