Some toddlers are using mobile phones for hours each day. Why this is the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Currently, phones are used by young children for several hours a day. The reason is that parents usually allow toddlers to use mobiles to keep them entertained.Indeed, this can be beneficial due to wide access to educational materials. Parents sometimes lack time to both complete their work and look after their children. For this reason, they have to occupy the kids' attention to gain some time to finish their work. As a result, when parents frequently select this option, parents forget about the problem, and they get used to it. This is the way many parents choose nowadays, due to a wide range of content on the phone, so they can be sure that their child will be entertained without their engagement. For instance, there are chores which,in general, consume about 2-3 hours a day. Additionally, the job takes at least half of the day, so there is no free time for parents to rest and to spend time entertaining their kids. Although many people consider that overuse of phones is damaging, there is one main advantage - toddlers can learn about new things on the phone.Today, the internet is filled with various learning materials,which can benefit children's academic results in future and instil a passion towards education.Particularly, children could view some science-based cartoons, such as "Smeshariki", which teaches children about science in an easy and exciting way. To conclude, elders let their children to use mobile phones to entertain them, while they are busy, and that is a good thing because they can gain tons of useful knowledge,surfing the internet