Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivataion for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both thee view and give your opinion.

In the contemporary world, a large proportion of individuals contend that punishments for crimes should be fixed, while others highlight the opposite, considering the fairness and deterrence associated with each. This essay will discuss both perspectives. While fixed sentencing promotes deterrence and consistency, I contend discretionary approach is more crucial in aligning the punishment with the moral weight of crime. On the one hand, fixed punishments seem to contribute the society more convenience and are able to deter crime in the most effective way. For example, draconian laws in ancient China, harsh repercussions such as severing the hands of people due to theft, not only disregarded the complexity of individual situations but also violated fundamental human rights. Furthermore, sentencing and judging the perpetrators from the perspective of predetermined sanctions will foster an unfair law framework, and some wealthy criminals who have the power to get lighter punishment will lead to potentially repeated offences, indeed. On the other hand, in charge of ensuring fairness and applying the laws with flexibility. Not all crimes are committed with malicious intent. For example, there can be a crime that has been committed because of self-defence; likewise, this kind of offence needs to be distinguished from premeditated action.A flexible legal framework allows judges to differentiate between crimes committed with nefarious intent and those driven by external pressures, ensuring a more balanced and humane approach to justice. In conclusion, whereas some argue that predetermined punishments are better to deter homicide and contribute to society a consistency, criminals need to be subjected to sentence judgmentally by authorities based on the specific case.