Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of prgress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that the most critical aim for many governments is the economic progress of their nations. In contarst, others are convinced that there are different varieties of progress that have the same level of importance. On the one hand, some argue that the economic development of countries is part and parcel of their sustainability. Having strong economy with high GDP, nations attract other countries, leading to their collaboration and investments. This, in turn, will create multiple new working places for the inhabitants, wich will increase their standards of living. Moreover, in such circumstances, authorities will have enough opportunities to allocate money for developing the other areas which are extremely important for the population, such as healthcare and education. Hence, if governments make much effort for their countries' economic progress, it will pave the way for their citizen's sustainable lives. However, I take the view that environmental progress is equally important. In the era of global warming, this matter cannot be neglected. This is because the frequency of natural disasters across the globe has increased significantly, being a serious threat for the world population's existance. For example, one tsunami or earthquake can destroy a large number of cities or towns in a short period of time, which will make these areas uninhabitable. As a result, all the governmental programs dedicated to their economical development will not be helpful in these situations. This means that, in addition to their industrial progress, the authorities should work hard on a course of action regarding this serious issue in order to overcome it. In conclusion, I am convinced that despite the fact that economic development is vital for each country, its envinronmental progress is not less important.