Some people think that job satisfaction is more important than job security, while some people think that they cannot always expect job satisfaction, a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that certain individuals imagine that employment happiness is more crucial than job security, whereas others express that the latter is not always achievable; instead, people must pursue full-time work. This essay agrees with the first view that work satisfaction is more important. First and foremost, it is clear that many people aspire to a workplace where they are free and happy. Employers that can guarantee these aspirations are highly likely to benefit the most from their employees, who will be more productive, innovative and creative. I agree with this line of thought because humans tend to invest time and effort in what they like the most. A good example is that of sporting individuals who usually remain behind to train outside of designated times. This way, sporting companies can benefit from both the passion and effort of the athletes. On the other hand, however, many disagree and feel that it is not always possible to get satisfactory conditions in employment. They argue that it is better to search for permanency than happiness. While this can be true, to a certain extent, I tend to disagree because such a job will only lead to frustration, poor results, illness and premature unemployment. For instance, a study in the UK found that 60 per cent of the people who held permanent positions reported struggles with mental health or other physical conditions such as stroke and back pain related to high degrees of work frustration and pressure. The research also assumed that only 20 per cent of these workers were likely to reach retirement age. In conclusion, therefore, whereas some people think that they cannot always expect job satisfaction, and thus a permanent job is more important, this essay disagrees with this view and argues that such jobs will be full of frustrations and sorrow. Instead, it is better to pursue employee happiness as it comes with freedom, productivity, creativity and innovation.