Scientists agree that people are damaging their health by eating too much junk food. Some people think that the answer to this problem is to educate people. Others think education will not work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Scientists agree that too much consumption of fast food is detrimental to individuals. Some folks believe that education is the only answer to this problem, whereas others say that raising individuals' awareness has no effect on this issue. I agree that educating people from early childhood is the best approach to this problem, because our behavioural patterns are prone to being impacted easily by our childhood memories. On one hand, easy access to junk food is now commonplace for most people. This is because westernisation brought a large number of fast food restaurants, such as McDonald's and Taco Bell, to our neighbourhood. This can lead people with busy lifestyles to end up having meals there. For example, many full-time workers tend to eat at McDonald’s restaurants five times a week, since it is much easier and faster to get food than to cook at home after exhausting work for eight hours. However, this can be mitigated by raising health awareness of each person through the media with information that such food can negatively affect public health. On the other hand, I believe that providing knowledge about nutrition from childhood is the most effective method to solve this problem. This is because our behaviour as human beings, including eating habits, tends to be influenced readily by what we were taught in our childhood. To illustrate this, some statistics say that in Japan, 65% of residents who used to be taught how to cook nutritious meals by their parents have no experience of eating food at KFCs, with the reason being that they know the food there contains too much calories and fat, which might cause health issues such as high blood pressure and obesity. To sum up, scientists concur with the opinion that spending too much money on fast food will be detrimental for us, and some individuals say that education is more effective, while others believe that educating people has fewer possibilities to solve this issue. I believe that educating citizens is the most plausible solution to this viewpoint, since what we learned when we were young could affect how we behave.