More and more people are moving to big cities these days. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of living in a large city.

In the contemporary world, migrating to large cities has become more prevalent than it used to be. From my vantage point, while this phenomenon can bring about some indisputable merits, they are not enough to justify the drawbacks. To commence with the advantages, many large cities are considered as economic hubs of the country and they feature many industries, which they offer a wide range of careers. As a result, many rural people tend to live in metropolises to become closer to industrial amenities and take advantage of them. Another benefit is that people who are living in cities have access to various facilities and services, like hospitals, schools, universities and shopping malls. These kinds of amenities make life much easier, and motivate rural residents to leave their countryside and start a new life in cities. Turning to the disadvantages, even though living in cities sounds attractive because of mentioned reseons, it has some challenges. In recent years, large cities have become more congested and polluted, and it has caused many health problems, consequently, the quality of life has declined. Another downside is that, this rising trend can have detrimental effects on cultural diversity of countries. When people leave their birth place, they gradually forget their traditions because of their new lifestyle, and as a result, this precious cultural heritage will be destroyed over time. In conclusion, although migration to cities is of undeniable benefits, I would argue that it can have detrimental effects on the quality of life and culture. In my opinion, governments should come up with permanent solutions, such as improvement in the services and facilities of rural areas and supporting local industries to encourage people stay in their home place.