Some universities now offer their course so that people can study online. Is it a positive or negative development.

Many prestigious instutitions such as Standford University, Cornell University and Oxford University and many more are offering online lessons. While some argue that it is a negative trend, I believe it is a positive development because it improves access to higher education and provides a fairer opportunity for capable students who may not perform well in traditional exams. The first main reason is that many students around the world are struggling to continue their education due to various reasons. In some cultures women are not allowed to take bachelor’s degree and some teenagers are not able to continue their education due to financial resasons. Online certification programs and courses of higher- education instutions reduce inequality of opportunity throughout the world. Because anyone who can access the internet could take university courses by using their computers. For example, in the Iran Islamic Republic, women are not allowed be present in public places without being married. As a result, young women’s higher education rate is ten times lower than male students. Five years ago, University of Tahran started giving online courses to female students and application rates of female students increased twenty times after the program openned. Moreover, university enterence exams are not successful indicators of choosing the right candidates because they only test students ’ ability to perform well in some high school subjects. However, most beachlor programs are highly unrelated to high school curriculums and they unable students to choose degrees they are interested in. Also, many neurodivergent students, especially students with Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder, struggle to perform well under stressful situations. For instance, university enterence exam namely YKS in Türkiye, a student who made no mistakes in physics and mathematics test can not enter any physics degree without achieving at least ten questions correct from religious studies which has no correlation with the physics curriculum in college. In conclusion, some may find online college education disadvantageous, I believe pragmatic sides outweigh. The biggest reasons are that more students can benefit from online- education than face-to-face education and standartizied tests are not capable of choosing students which can perform the best in fields.