Some people think technological development can reduce crime, while others think it would encourage crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a hot debate whether the development of technology increases or reduces the possibility of crime. From my perspective, I maintain a neutral statement on this. On the one hand, the advancement of technology can prevent crimes before they emerge. For instance, the cameras and GPS can track the routes of prisoners, and the facial recognition systems lead police to confirm the information of criminals better. This technology provides more ease for the police to investigate the cases. Nowadays, residents are also equipped with some intelligent systems that can ensure their life security also to hinder the thieves. Only in this way can technologies lead prisoners to be feared, thus helping citizens guarantee their quality of life while reducing the probability of crime. On the other hand, however, high technology can cause the diversity of criminal behaviours. The development of AI and social media which has led to the opportunities for various network crimes. In addition, the personal information is easily obtained by criminals to cheat the residents. For AI technology can simulate human voices and faces, thus making the target victims, especially the elderly, eliminate their attention and be cheated away their money. To sum up, high technology can indeed help people enhance their sense of security in daily lives, nevertheless, this means that prisoners can also learn high-tech methods to improve their criminal methods. Therefore, I argue that the advancement of technology should be strictly enforced by laws to hinder the abuse of the internet and decrease the happening of crimes.