In some countries, there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, young people would likely choose to join work-based training rather than enroll in a university. This essay will argue that although joining work-based training provides the trainee with more experience in the field, the danger of losing the job far outweighs any benefits. Many undergraduate students, after graduation, lack the experience needed to join large companies or firms. Therefore, many young students consider work-based training to gain firsthand experience in the workforce. This will help them achieve promotions more quickly, especially since these programs often last between two and three years. For example, a company headquartered in Saudi Arabia called Aramco runs a yearly work-based training program named ITC after high school. Additionally, many participants receive job offers at Aramco after completing the program. This shows that the program provides trainees with valuable experience that helps them qualify for employment. The risk of losing the job and not getting high-level promotions after joining work-based training programs might occur since many of those people do not have a university certificate. Not having a certificate in their specialization not only prevents the employee from getting higher-level promotions but also leads to not getting job offers from other companies. Furthermore, college graduates would likely be employed at a higher grade than the trainee, because they have a degree. This also means that their work might be easier and get promoted quicker. For instance, at the Aramco company, newly university-graduated students will be employed at grade 13, whereas trainees in ITC would begin their journey in grade 9. This indicates that college graduates might be provided with several features, including free healthcare and access to high-level entertainment parks on campus, while work-based training graduates would not receive. To conclude, enrolling in work-based training programs would provide the trainee with more experience in the field; however, the risk of not changing your job and not receiving higher bonuses compared to college graduates far outweighs the advantages.