Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Atlantic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays, it is witnessed that tourists have a greater tendency to visit remote and eccentric zones, like the Sahara desert or the Atlantic instead of usual tourist attractions, and this phenomenon has its own advantages and disadvantages for visitors, which I am going to elucidate comprehensively in the following paragraphs. Regarding its advantages, it is crystal clear that wilderness tourism can be so attractive for sightseers in such a way that the more people visit off the beaten track and intact places, the more their level of enjoyment and amusement will be; moreover, they can gather different and fascinating experiences through visiting such places. For instance, the Lut desert in Iran is known as the warmest region in the world during summer, and after the construction of a building for living in that area, both Iranians and foreign visitors pay a great deal of money to be in that building only for six hours and experience the scorching hot weather. Therefore, gathering unique and eccentric experiences is a result of wilderness tourism and is highly attractive for explorers. On the other hand, this phenomenon is accompanied by its difficulties for travellers as well; since some strict rules are taken to preserve these wild areas and keep them intact as much as possible, explorers sightseeing these regions have to follow some strict observations, which can make their trip so arduous. For example, as far as I concern, in the Sahara desert visitors can travel only by the help of native peoples’ camels, and there is no vehicle to carry both themselves and their luggage; this measure is mandatory in order to save the region intact, and sometimes tolerating the scorching hot weather of that area is so laborious for travellers. Consequently, experiencing tough situations is an inevitable part of visiting wild areas. To sum up, we witness that nowadays people have a greater preference for visiting places where conditions are difficult, and beyond the shadow of a doubt, this action has its own merits and drawbacks for sightseers, which have been discussed in the above paragraphs.