Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that the greatest way to enhance community fitness is by building more athletic facilities, while others would say that this wouldn’t benefit the population's health that much and that other actions are needed. While athletics facilities are encouraging physical activities, I believe that they should pay attention to other aspects, such as low usage by some groups. On the one hand, athletic centres are going to stimulate engagement in physical exercise. The availability of playgrounds, swimming pools and gyms nearby makes exercising easier and more attractive for people. For example, in Copenhagen, Denmark, the government invested in building bike paths and fitness centres in residential neighbourhoods, encouraging a large percentage of residents to cycle daily. Several years later, obesity and heart disease rates dropped significantly, and the city is now ranked among the healthiest in Europe. However, I believe that sports centres alone can't improve public health. On the other hand, it is thought that sports facilities alone are not enough; there are a lot of measures that should be taken into consideration, such as sparse engagement from specific groups. Even if facilities are available, some people do not use them due to a lack of awareness, being busy, or a lack of interest in sports. For instance, a 2018 WHO study found that increasing the number of sports facilities alone does not significantly improve public health unless accompanied by awareness campaigns and lifestyle changes. Many people fail to benefit due to poor awareness or persistent poor eating habits. I believe this school of thought is preferable because awareness is more important than building fitness centres. In conclusion, although increasing the number of sports facilities may encourage people to join gyms, many individuals remain unaware of the importance of sports in daily life. Without raising this awareness, such facilities will have little to no real benefit.