Some people believe that children of all ages should have extra responsibilities (for example, helping at home or at work). Others believe that, outside of school, children should be free to enjoy their lives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many would argue that youngsters at any age should have more duties, while others would say that, beyond school, kids should spend their day as they want. While giving minors extra tasks will teach them how to be responsible people in the future, I believe that they should just live their childhood appropriately because if they didn't, they are more likely to face mental problems. On the one hand, assigning juveniles for excessive assignments will lead them to be trustworthy people. When children receive a lot of tasks at their early age, it will develop their sense of responsibility and their problem-solving skills because their minds have become used to these conditions. For example, the current Prime Minister of Singapore, Lee Hsien Loong, stated that at the age of 10, his father, Lee Kuan Yew, assigned him household and group chores, which taught him discipline, time management, and problem-solving, skills that later helped him lead the government. However, I believe that they should enjoy their childhood instead of worrying about their duties. On the other hand, it is thought that the more responsibilities the kids have, the more they are going to suffer from psychological problems later on in their lives. The pure nature of youngsters is simply to enjoy life. Therefore, putting stress on them by giving them duties that they can't handle will reflect on them as psychological problems because they were not created for this. For instance, a 2013 study at the University of Wisconsin–Madison found that excessive stress and responsibilities on children early on increase the risk of anxiety and depression later on, due to the effect of high cortisol on brain development. I believe this school of thought is preferable because it maintains children's mental health. In conclusion, although giving children extra responsibilities can help develop their sense of responsibility, I believe enjoying their childhood is far more important, as excessive duties may significantly increase the risk of mental health issues.