Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local foods is environmentally and economically beneficial. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

There are different types of food items that, are sent to far away places for their utilisation. Many people think that, consuming a local food is environmentally and economically more profitable, however, others debate this point. There are both positive and negative ramifications of this point, but, I believe that the former outweighs later, and I will explicate my point further in this essay. First and foremost, the local food of a place is prepared after considering all the environmental and locational factors. Weather and temperature has a huge impact on the eating habits of a place. Therefore, eating a regional meal can help maintain a balanced and healthy lifestyle. For instance, in countries like Canada, people consume a lot of red meat and wine, because the temperature gets as low as -20 degree celsius. Thus, eating such diet help people to keep their body warm, and survive such harsh conditions. Furthermore, intake of local items helps increasing economy of a place, because finances are not spent in importing these things to other places. Also, it is usually prepared with the items that are commonly available in that location, therefore, people need not go through the trouble of buying stuff to prepare their daily bread. For example, in South India, people consume a lot of coconut based products because of it's extensive availability. Conclusively, there are various benefits of promoting more the use of local food items, because it helps us to maintain the authenticity of a region. Such food items are prepared keeping all important factors in mind, and therefore should not be shipped away to other places.