Due to the rise of digital communication methods like social media and instant messaging, face-to-face communication is becoming less common. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, thanks to the increasing development of digital communication methods like social media and instant messaging, exchanging information has been benefited in various ways. Otherwise, because of this trend, face to face communication is believed to become less common. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon. First of all, one merit that instant communication has brought to people's life is that it facilitates socializing remotely with just a touch of a button. This is because individuals may avoid bad weather like heavy rain or traffic jams when commuting between places in order to attend a formal meeting like interviews as it is time-saving just to stay at home with the internet connection without the fear of not being punctual. Addtionally, as there have been various social dating platforms available on the app store, the youth now are able to find their ideal match without putting the effort to meet in person. For example, Google Meeting is a prime example where those who got premium memberships can have access to unlimited time per meeting and some research indicates that this platform has helped numberous businesses with saving time for interviews and conference meetings. Therefore, because of these benefits, people may no longer be in need for direct communication. Nevertheless, there are several downsides of relying on online social network. Firstly, more and more individuals may become susceptible to anti-social behaviors, resulting in anxiety and even depression. For instance, a recent article shows that those who prefer staying at home texting and working remotely are more likely to struggle expressing their own emotions and thoughts to others in real life. This leads to having fears of socializing and overly self-isolating. Another drawback is that fewer people may enjoy meaningful converasations in real life and this can make them less empathetic to each other because they can choose not to be responsible for their actions. In conclusion, digital communication platforms may help people with remote interaction so as to stay cleer of physical hindrances like bad weather conditions and congestions. However, there are also some negative side effects such as mental illnesses. Personally, I hope that governments can come up with effective ways toraise awareness for real interactions.