Many manufactured food and drinks products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, the majority of food and drink producers have added excessive amounts of sugar to their products, leading to serious diseases such as diabetes, heart disease and dental issues. In this case, some have argued that the cost of these products ought to increase to prevent people from consuming them. I believe that this view can reduce the consumption of sugary foods. Nonetheless, it has a short-term effect, consequently, requiring strategic planning to encourage long-term reduction in consumption. To begin, making products more expensive is a direct way to decrease the consumption of sugary products, since price plays a crucial role in determining the demand for any product. To be more precise, if a product has a high price, people's tendency to purchase it will decline. In addition, it can reduce consumption among low-income individuals who already consume moderately. A salient example can be seen in Iran, the government increased fuel prices to reduce consumption, encouraging people to manage their consumption more responsibly. Hence, price can act as an effective deterrent, preventing the overuse of any product in the short term. Furthermore, long-term measures can enhance public health by reducing the consumption of sugary products in more sustainable ways. One approach is for healthcare authorities to design programs that educate people about the dangers of excessive intake of nutrients such as sugar, fats, and even vitamins. As an example, The Dr. Oz Show in the United States informs viewers about various aspects of health and explains the harmful effects of overconsuming certain nutrients. Thus, media programs can contribute to reducing serious illnesses caused by excessive consumption of certain nutrients. To sum up, although increasing prices is a simple way to reduce consumption, I believe that it has a short-term effect. Moreover, it threatens companies’ economic stability by decreasing demand for their products. Therefore, long-term strategies should be adopted to motivate individuals to consume such products in moderation.