Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, we are living in a technological era, where digital devices are an inevitable part of people's lives. Hence, some people argue that regular use of personal computers by children has a more negative impact on them. I strongly agree with this statement because they are not mentally mature enough. Firstly, many parents allow unsupervised use of computers by their kids, which may lead to distraction. In today's world, it is necessary to use PCs to learn new software and tools to prepare young lerners for the outside world. However, if it is left unattended, then young users might end up shifting their focus on playing games or watching content that they are not supposed to do. This may result in poor academic performance. Secondly, studies have shown that longer screen time, especially by young kids, has a lower attention span, which jeopardises their ability to focus on learning new things. Thirdly, daily use of computers has a negative impact not only mentally but also physically. Looking at the screen for a longer period of time can deteriorate eyesight due to emission of blue rays. Lastly, children have limited understanding of the world, so it is paramount that the content that they consume online on personal devices needs to be supervhised, otherwise they can easily misunderstand the content. For example, there are many videos online saying college dropouts have gained greater success in life, which is partially true, but viewers might think that college degrees are useless, as a result, many learners lose interest in education. This might put their career in jeopardy in the future. In conclusion, although it is beneficial to use a computer to keep up to date in this digital world, it has more negative effects on mental health and physical harm.