Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increases. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

After the abolition of the capital punishment, our lives have become more insecure and crime has increased. Even though this statement is relatively true, i firmly believe that the death penalty is not an effective way to combat social violence, since there are other ways to prevent crime and improve the security landscape. Firstly, most countries are not prepared to implement the death penalty due to a deficient and even corrupt judicial system. Although the death penalty is often applied for very serious crimes such as rape and murder, the presumption of innocence and the right to a trial are disregarded, which can lead to injustice in killing the criminal. For example, in 2015, two Chileans were to be unjustly executed in Malaysia for an alleged murder, a case that shook the world, because the truth is that many countries with the death penalty lack strong and effective judicial systems, and innocent people can be killed unjustly. Secondly, It should be mentioned that many countries with very high crime rates, are countries with great inequality, lack of opportunities and declining public services, which leads to a greater tendency towards crime due to these factors. A study from the University of California showed that countries that invested in education, public health, and housing from the outset, had lower crime rates compared with countries that invested in weapons, prisons, and police forces. In conclusion, taking deeper and more far-sighted measures, such as investing in education, is much more effective in preventing crime in the long run than the death penalty, which only puts an end to the problem when the damage is already done, and also put an innocent person at risk by being judged wrongly.