Some think that governments should provide free public transport for all citizens, while others believe people should pay for this service. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that public transportation should be available for all residents as a means of free commuting, while others claim that such service should be paid. Although free public transport has already been available in some regions for certain groups of people, I believe that almost all citizens need to pay for use of services. On the one hand, the governments' universal goal is to provide accessible and comfortable facilities to their society. One of the most used services is public transport, such as buses and metro. Nowadays, many countries have already been providing free rides for vulnerable groups of citizens, for example, for old people, persons with disabilities and kids under a certain age. Therefore, assisting citizens with one of the basic needs is the priority of many nations. On the other hand, public transport requires good amounts of funding that cannot be fully covered without passengers' purchases or with only taxes. By paying for trips, people do not just donate money to the government, but also directly support the operations of the transport, salaries of workers or any reconstruction and repairing works. Moreover, since the cost of tickets for public transport is not usually high or expensive, many employed people may afford such a payment. Therefore, in my conclusion, despite that free public transport provides its benefits to society, I am convinced that without additional cash assistance, there is no guarantee that public transportation can work as comfortably as it can.