Many countries have compaulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possible for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, numerous nations have made the army obligatory for young males upon finishing high school. Whilst some people argue that this is unfair to those who do not wish to serve, I believe all countries must implement conscription, especially for men, and I will explain my reasons. To begin with, the army develops innumerable qualities in individuals by teaching them hard work and how to defend themselves. If a young man learns fighting techniques and survival skills in the worst conditions, he will be capable of not only saving himself but also protecting his family and country. For example, in South Korea, there is compulsory military service for two years for men when they turn 18. As a result, South Koreans have developed a strong sense of duty toward their nation and families. Furthermore, the army has a way of helping young individuals mature quickly. After experiencing the demanding environment of the armed forces, they grow more quickly; thus, they are more willing to take available jobs after their military service rather than insisting on specific roles. For instance, in China, a survey measuring employment in the first year after graduation, whether after higher education or after military service, reported that 87% of former soldiers secured a position, while only 34% of graduates became employed. Because many non-recruits are more selective, they often cannot accept any job, which leaves many of them unemployed and delays their maturity. To conclude, although military service can be long and tiring, I am convinced that it is a wise policy. Conscription can cultivate protective and strong generations, both mentally and physically.