It has been argued that gift giving should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

In today's contemporary world, gift exchanging is very common practice. Gift giving has significant importance in different countries. But many people agrue that this practice should not be encouraged, as it is money wastage and people do not like the gifts that are given to them. I firmly agree with the fact that gift giving should not be encouraged. To start with, it is often observed that many people nowadays get involved in exchanging presents. Social status is one of the primary reasons. Earlier gifts were consider token of love or to build new realtions or friendships, but now people consider this as a social symbol. Many individuals believe that if they give branded items to others, they will be considered rich or higher in the society. For example, many employees usually bribe their employeers with tons of expensive things to get promoted or to build good terms. Furthermore, many youngsters easily get influenced by movie actors or people they watch online and tend to gift their significant others expensive gifts. In many cases, it is seen that money is wasted on unwanted things. People today celebrate each and every moment of their lives and this celebration involves lots of party and many presents. In past, people would spend their time to choose the appropriate gifts for others, but in present it is just show off and no love and affection. In conclusion, it will be right to say that gifts should be only given on special occasion and should be budget friendly. Social influencers should also stop showing off their personal lives. Moreover, the gift receiver should also not judge the price of gift but should appreciate the efforts and sentiments of the person.