Online education is becoming more popular as an alternative to traditional classroom learning. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly argued that online learning is becoming more widespread compared to a traditional classroom education. While there are some advantages of distance schooling, I believe its disadvantages outweigh the advantages significantly. The main advantage is convenience. Online education allows students to enroll in classes and acquire new knowledge regardless of location and time zone. Therefore, the process of learning becomes easier and more affordable. As traditional classroom teaching requires time to attend or be presented in the classroom, during distance learning everything can be accomplished at home in comfortable conditions on computers or laptops. For example, during the COVID period, mostly everyone could wake up 5 minutes before the start of classes and still be prepared for lessons. However, the drawbacks of such education are far more significant. Nowadays, there is a belief that online education сannot not provide a sufficient amount of high-quality knowledge. Because in such an environment a teacher is not physically present next to students, many of them may not be concentrated on necessary learning activities. Moreover, there are still possibilities of cheating during important exams or misuse of artificial intelligence in tasks where creativity and independent thinking is required. For example, statistics demonstrate that students who attend middle school during quarantine times, showed serious gaps in important math topics. Therefore, the quality of such education can be seriously doubted. In conclusion, while online schooling can provide several benefits to a learning community due to accessibility of acquiring knowledge in different environments, such classroom teaching may provide significant disadvantages of bad quality learning or possibility of cheating by students.