Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that every student in the university should be allowed to pursue a subject according to preference, while others think that future holding subjects like science and technology should only be studied. Although science and technology could help students secure their future, I believe that interest in a particular subject helps an individual to thrive. On the one hand, studying computer science, information technology, and many other subjects related to technology and science would undoubtedly help students to secure their future. This is because, nowadays, it could be normally seen that these companies provide high salaries to their employees due to their massive growth from professional to personal level by the means of the latest smartphones, electronic vehicles, and computer operating robots. For example, Tesla is one of the leading industries with the highest wages paid to computer engineers, software developers, and other skill-related individuals, therefore, enabling them to have a secure and bright future. However, I argue that the interest of a student should be given preference. On the other hand, students should be allowed to pursue their interests such as arts, commerce, or music as it would help them to prosper. This is to say that an individual would continue to work hard with dedication and focus without ever getting tired because it would bring happiness, and ultimately every individual in this world simply wants to stay happy. Also, persistent hard work brings growth and eventually success. For instance, if Sartaj Singh, a famous singer from India had not pursued master’s in the field of music, we would have never been such an amazing artist. For this reason, I believe that the choice of student should matter. In conclusion, while science and technology are taking over the world, and university students might have a bright and secure future, I opine that students should be free to take subjects they like so that they can give their best performance in the field.