Some think that having ambition is a good quality. Is it important to be ambitious? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

Some people believe that ambition is a good quality that everyone should have. While it is essential for being ambitious in certain circumstances, I believe that this trait does more harm than good. On the one hand, being ambitious means individuals often have big dreams, which creates a significant source of motivation for people to take practical steps towards their goals. In addition, when people aim at higher targets, they are more likely to push themselves out of their safe zones and willing to encounter risks to seize precious opportunities. For instance, an athlete who aim to become championship might put a lot of effort in practicing and training, making them become an unbeatable candidate in every competition. On the other hand, being too ambitious could also entail several demerits in people's career and daily lives. First, when people are ambitious, they often set unrealistic goals regardless of their talents, and ability, which could lead to failure and disappointment. In addition, people who have ambition in every aspect of life are more likely to become perfectionists, leading to procrastination lifestyle and suffering from anxiety. In the long run, this could take a toll on people's mental health. Secondly, when being too ambitious, individuals may want to achieve their objectives at all cost, eventually compromising ethical and moral principles. For example, manufacturers want to increase their sales by promoting false information about their products would not only affect their consumers' health but also ruin their company's reputation. In conclusion, it is essential for individual to have ambition to aim higher as it creates a great inspriration for people to obtain their goals. However, being too ambitious and unrealistic may harm people's mental health and even affect other people. I firmly believe that individuals should learn to strike a balance between two sides as it is crucial for them to success and develop in the long term.