In some countries there are more young people choosing to enroll in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different views about whether the younger generation should attend the vocational education system or a higher educational structure. In my opinion, the advantages of attending in to universities outweigh disadvantages. Firstly, practical learning helps students develop essential skills to adapt to a professional environment. By engaging in hands-on experiences such as apprenticeships, students learn how to tackle real-life challenges effectively. Moreover, compared to the university system, this schooling system also meets the industry’s demands much more quickly. For instance, in Germany, the vocational education system trans technical workers, and they directly match industry needs through operational practice. It also enables them to work confidently in the professional field. Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks to this academic system. One of them is the restriction on access to high-paying jobs. In the longer perspective, a lack of theoretical knowledge will probably cause limited career progression. For instance, career advancement is often limited, as senior or managerial roles usually require a formal degree. As a result, people who choose work-based training might not be able to be promoted as quickly as others. On the other hand, universities provide professional knowledge and qualifications. Students gain higher employability and competitiveness. Solid educational background also means that they can get promotions in their careers much more easily; thus, those who come from a disadvantaged background have the ability to break the social reproduction, improving social mobility and gaining higher income for themselves and their family. However, there is also a disadvantage, which is huge financial pressure on families. Supporting one child’s university education might lead to sacrificing the education of other children or cutting basic household expenses. Therefore, attending university might cause a financial burden on families. In conclusion, while applying higher framework of education may have some negative aspects, I strongly believe that the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks because through this system, students could find more stable job and break the social reproduction.