Nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time being active or creative. What is the reason for this? What measures should be taken to encourage children to be more active?

There is no denying the fact that, in today’s world, many children spend their leisure time being inactive and less creative. It is a commonly held belief that, in the past, children used to invest their free time in more useful activities rather than watching TV. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this problem and suggest possible solutions to encourage children to be more active and creative. On the one hand, this problem does not affect all the families in the world, some are interested in teaching their young kids moral, educational activities and subjects like math, science, etc. In other words, these knowledges assist the child to be creative and act actively in society. For example, Albert Einstein, the scientist, used to have an impressive childhood with immense achievements and research. On the other hand, some parents are lazy and do not take care of and engage in their child's life, and it is easiest for them to give their kids a telephone or television, which harms their health and affects their lifestyle. Moreover, addiction to the screen occurs when they spend an excessive amount of time focusing on the screen. As a result, this addiction can lead to deteriorating vision, eye strain and redness. For instance, research conducted in Germany revealed that the over-exposure to television harms 90 per cent of people in Berlin since they used to spend a lot of time watching television. In conclusion, considering the bad results on people’s health, regulations must be set by parents to protect their children’s health. In the recent world, new technologies are significantly helpful can managing and controlling the kids’ free time in an appropriate way.